

To: Members of the Communities

**Scrutiny Committee** 

Date: 27 June 2016

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

### **Dear Councillor**

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** to be held at **9.30 am** on **THURSDAY**, **30 JUNE 2016** in **CONFERENCE ROOM 1A**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN**.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

### **AGENDA**

## 1 APOLOGIES

## 2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

## 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

## **4 MINUTES** (Pages 3 - 14)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 12<sup>th</sup> May, 2016 (copy enclosed).

5 REVIEW OF THE HOME TO SCHOOL TRANSPORT POLICY (Pages 15 - 34)

To consider the findings of a review of the impact of the implementation of the school transport policy and information on the forward planning for September's transport arrangements.

## **6 SUPPORTED INDEPENDENT LIVING** (Pages 35 - 44)

To consider the progress made with the introduction of the SIL Service, details of the Supporting People funding for the Service and the benefits of taking an integrated streamlined approach to managing SIL, Reablement and the Health and Social Care Support Worker Service (HSCSW) along with other initiatives to realise value for money (the report to include the number of SIL Service recipients in each Council ward and the SIL Action Plan)

# 7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 45 - 60)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

### 8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups

### **MEMBERSHIP**

### Councillors

Councillor Huw Hilditch-Roberts Councillor Rhys Hughes (Vice-Chair)

(Chair)

Brian Blakeley Anton Sampson
Bill Cowie David Simmons
Peter Evans Cefyn Williams
Martyn Holland Cheryl Williams

**Bob Murray** 

## **Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)**

Debra Houghton John Piper Gareth Williams

#### **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils